CITY OF FORT SASKATCHEWAN

Assessment Review Board Members

Recommendation:

That Council appoint the following individuals, as members of the Assessment Review Board for a term ending December 31, 2015:

Bennett, Judy
Chartrand, Darlene
Chauvet, Paul
Dennett, Jack
Graszko, Tina
Hennig, Stew
Knowles, Richard
Normandu, Guy
Ralph, Ray
Ross, Diane

Purpose:

The purpose of this report is to appoint members to the Assessment Review Board (ARB) for a term ending December 31, 2015.

Background:

In the winter of 2009 the Minister of Municipal Affairs introduced amendments to the *Municipal Government Act* changing the operation and makeup of the former ARB. As a result of the changes, the Capital Region Assessment Services Commission (CRASC) proposed providing ARB hearing services to its members. CRASC has been providing services to the City since January 2010.

As per Bylaw C14-10, the Assessment Complaints Manager, in consultation with the City, may appoint up to three Members from the list of individuals adopted by Council resolution to each Board.

The list includes the names of individuals who have successfully completed the provincially legislated training courses and are qualified to sit on the ARB and are available to CRASC participating municipalities.

Plans/Standards/Legislation:

The appointment of ARB members falls under Part 11 of the *Municipal Government Act* and City of Fort Saskatchewan Bylaw C14-10.

Financial Implications:

Not applicable.

Alternatives:

1. That Council appoint the following individuals, as members of the Assessment Review Board for a term ending December 31, 2015:

Bennett, Judy
Chartrand, Darlene
Chauvet, Paul
Dennett, Jack
Graszko, Tina
Hennig, Stew
Knowles, Richard
Normandu, Guy
Ralph, Ray
Ross, Diane

2. That Council not appoint the following individuals, as members of the Assessment Review Board for a term ending December 31, 2015, and advise how they wish to proceed.

Bennett, Judy
Chartrand, Darlene
Chauvet, Paul
Dennett, Jack
Graszko, Tina
Hennig, Stew
Knowles, Richard
Normandu, Guy
Ralph, Ray
Ross, Diane

Recommendation:

That Council appoint the following individuals, as members of the Assessment Review Board for a term ending December 31, 2015:

Bennett, Judy
Chartrand, Darlene
Chauvet, Paul
Dennett, Jack
Graszko, Tina
Hennig, Stew
Knowles, Richard
Normandu, Guy
Ralph, Ray
Ross, Diane

File No.: 1320_20/ASSE

Prepared by: Sheryl Exley Date: May 26, 2015

Legislative Officer

Approved by: Brenda Molter Date: June 2, 2015

Director, Legislative Services

Approved by: Brenda Rauckman Date: June 2, 2015

General Manager, Corporate Services

Reviewed by: Troy Fleming Date: June 3, 2015

Acting City Manager

Submitted to: City Council Date: June 9, 2015