Council Chambers – City Hall

Present:

Members of Council:

Mayor Gale Katchur

Councillor Birgit Blizzard (via telephone)

Councillor Sheldon Bossert

Councillor Frank Garritsen

Councillor Stew Hennig

Councillor Arjun Randhawa

Councillor Ed Sperling

Administration:

Kelly Kloss, City Manager

Troy Fleming, General Manager, Infrastructure & Community Services

Brenda Rauckman, General Manager, Corporate & Protective Services

Sheryl Exley, Acting Director, Legislative Services

Wendy Kinsella, Director, Communications and Marketing

Janel Smith-Duguid, Director, Planning & Development

James Clark, Fire Chief

Susan Morrissey, Director, Finance

Mike Erickson, Economic Development Officer

Reade Beaudoin, Digital Media Coordinator

Dorothy MacMillan, Legislative Officer

In accordance with Section 199 of the *Municipal Government Act*, notice is hereby given that telephone conferencing will be used to connect Councillor Blizzard from a remote location.

1. Call to Order

Mayor Katchur called the regular Council Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

2. Approval of Minutes

R30-15 MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that the minutes of the January 27, 2015 regular Council Meeting be adopted as presented.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard,

Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Delegations

None

4. Presentations

4.1 2014 Year End Audit Planning Report

Presented by: John Stelter, CA and Concurring Partner, KPMG LLP

John Stelter, CA and Concurring Partner, with KPMG LLP was in attendance to present the 2014 Audit Planning Report for the City of Fort Saskatchewan to Council.

Mayor Katchur thank Mr. Stelter for his presentation.

4.2 Retail Market and Gap Analysis Findings

Presented by: Mike Erickson, Economic Development Officer and Kieron Hunt, Cushing Terrell Architecture Inc.

Mike Erickson, Economic Development Officer and Kieron Hunt, Cushing Terrell Architecture Inc. were in attendance to provide Council information on the summary findings from the Fort Saskatchewan Retail Market and Gap Analysis.

Mayor Katchur thanked Mr. Erickson and Mr. Hunt for their presentation.

5. New Business

5.1 Subdivision of Old Health Care Centre Site

Presented by: Mike Erickson, Economic Development Officer

R31-15 MOVED BY Councillor Garritsen that Council authorize the City of Fort Saskatchewan to subdivide a portion of City-owned land, legally described as Lot A, Plan 911 NY, subject to the Tentative Subdivision Plan attached as Appendix A to the Council Report dated February 4, 2015.

In Favour: Stew Hennig, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

Against: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Arjun Randhawa

CARRIED

6. Bylaws

6.1 Bylaw C4-15 - Emergency Management Bylaw - 3 readings

Presented by: James Clark, Fire Chief

R32-15 MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that Council give first reading to Emergency Management Bylaw C4-15.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMIOUSLY

R33-15 MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that Council give second reading to Emergency Management Bylaw C4-15.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

R34-15 MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that Council provide unanimous consent to proceed with third and final reading to Emergency Management Bylaw C4-15.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

R35-15 MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that Council give third reading to Emergency Management Bylaw C4-15.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Mayor Katchur called a short recess at 7:21 p.m.

The regular Council Meeting reconvened at 7:27 p.m.

6.2 Bylaw C5-15 to Amend Land Use Bylaw C10-13 by Redistricting a Portion of SE 1/4 Section of 19-54-22-W4M and a Portion of Lot 1, Block 1, Plan 022 6974 from UR - Urban Reserve District to RC - Comprehensively Planned Residential District, R3 - Small Lot Residential District, and DC(A)-07 - Direct Control - Residential (Southfort Meadows Stage 5) - Southfort Meadows Stage 4 and 5 - 1st reading Presented by: Janel Smith-Duguid, Director, Planning & Development and Andrew Usenik, Development Manager, Strata Development Corp.

R36-15 MOVED BY Councillor Garritsen that Council give first reading to Bylaw C5-15 to amend Land Use Bylaw C10-13 by redistricting a Portion of SE ¼ Section of 19-54-22-W4M and a Portion of Lot 1, Block 1, Plan 022 6974 from UR - Urban Reserve District to RC – Comprehensively Planned Residential District, R3 – Small Lot Residential District, and DC(A)-07 - Direct Control – Residential (Southfort Meadows Stage 4 and 5).

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Sheldon Bossert

Against: Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Ed Sperling

CARRIED

6.3 Bylaw C6-15 - 2015 Supplementary Assessment Bylaw - 3 readingsPresented by: Susan Morrissey, Director, Finance

R37-15 MOVED BY Councillor Bossert that Council give first reading to Bylaw C6-15, which authorizes the preparation of supplementary assessments for improvements within the municipality.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

R38-15 MOVED BY Councillor Bossert that Council give second reading to Bylaw C6-15, which authorizes the preparation of supplementary assessments for improvements within the municipality.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

R39-15 MOVED BY Councillor Bossert that Council provide unanimous consent to proceed with third and final reading to Bylaw C6-15, which authorizes the preparation of supplementary assessments for improvements within the municipality.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

R40-15 MOVED BY Councillor Bossert that Council give third reading to Bylaw C6-15, which authorizes the preparation of supplementary assessments for improvements within the municipality.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

- 6.4 Bylaw C7-15 Incur Indebtness by the Issuance of Debentures to the Alberta Capital Finance Authority for the Purpose of Sewer Service Reline Construction 1st reading Presented by: Susan Morrissey, Director, Finance
- **R41-15** MOVED BY Councillor Sperling that Council give first reading to Bylaw C7-15 to incur indebtedness by the issuance of Debentures to the Alberta Capital Finance Authority for the purpose of sewer service reline construction, in an amount not to exceed \$1,200,000.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

7. Mayor and Councillors Boards/Committees Update

Members of Council provided an update on current and upcoming activities for Boards/ Committees.

8. Administrative Inquiries

Members of Council were given the opportunity to ask questions and provide concerns and comments.

9. Notice of Motion

None.

10. Adjournment

R42-15 MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that the regular Council Meeting adjourn at 8:21 p.m.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Mayor	
	Mayor