

Request for Decision

Regular Council Meeting – December 8, 2020

Transit Commission

Motion:

Whereas:

- The City of Beaumont, the Town of Devon, the City of Edmonton, the City of Fort Saskatchewan, the City of Leduc, the City of Spruce Grove, the City of St. Albert, and the Town of Stony Plain (the "Members") have jointly agreed to establish a regional services commission for the provision of transit services in the Edmonton metropolitan region (the "Commission");
- The Members' Councils passed resolutions in February and March 2020 supporting the adoption of a regulation under Part 15.1 of the *Municipal Government Act*, as it then read, to establish the Commission;
- On June 11, 2020 an application was made on behalf of the Members, under the process in effect at that time, to establish the Commission;
- The application was under consideration by the Government of Alberta, when effective September 1, 2020, Part 15.1 of the *Municipal Government Act* was amended, changing the process for the establishment of regional services commissions;
- The amendment to Part 15.1 of the *Municipal Government Act* now requires a specific form of council resolution and an order of the Minister of Municipal Affairs updating the list maintained by the Minister of all the commissions established in the Province, to include the Commission on that list, in order for the Commission to be established;
- Each of the Members remains committed to the establishment of the Commission and wishes to adopt a resolution in compliance with sections 602.02 and 602.03 of Part 15.1 of the *Municipal Government Act* for submission the Minister of Municipal Affairs

NOW THEREFORE IT BE RESOLVED that:

The City of Fort Saskatchewan agrees to establish a regional services commission jointly with the other Members and specifies that:

1. the name of the regional services commission is the "Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Services Commission";

Transit Commission Regular Council Meeting – December 8, 2020 Page 2

- 2. the names of the Members of the Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Services Commission are:
 - (a) the City of Beaumont,
 - (b) the Town of Devon,
 - (c) the City of Edmonton,
 - (d) the City of Fort Saskatchewan,
 - (e) the City of Leduc,
 - (f) the City of Spruce Grove,
 - (g) the City of St. Albert, and
 - (h) the Town of Stony Plain;
- 3. the names of the members of first board of directors of the Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Services Commission are:
 - (a) Sam Munckhof-Swain
 - (b) Ray Ralph
 - (c) Michael Walters
 - (d) Gordon Harris
 - (e) Glen Finstad
 - (f) Chantal McKenzie
 - (g) Wes Brodhead; and
 - (h) Justin Laurie;
- 4. the name of the first chair of the Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Services Commission is: Wes Brodhead.

Purpose:

The purpose of this report is to provide a resolution from Council on forming an Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Services Commission (formerly known as the Regional Transit Service Commission) to comply with the provisions of the newly revised *Municipal Government Act* (MGA).

Background Analysis:

On March 10, 2020, Council directed the Chief Administrative Officer to provide notice in writing to the Deputy Ministers of Transportation and Municipal Affairs that the City of Fort Saskatchewan supports creating a Regional Transit Services Commission for the Edmonton Metropolitan Region. The approval was pending Council approval of the revised governance, financial and operating models for the Commission based on the exclusion of any municipalities who chose not to join the Commission.

On June 9, 2020, Council approved the revised Commission governance, financial and operating models and continued to support establishment of a Regional Transit Services Commission with Fort Saskatchewan as a member.

On June 10, 2020, the Chief Administrative Officer sent letters to the Deputy Minister of Municipal Affairs and the Deputy Minister of Alberta Transportation stating that the City of Fort Saskatchewan supports the creation of a Regional Transit Services Commission for the Edmonton Metropolitan Region, including Fort Saskatchewan as a Commission.

Transit Commission Regular Council Meeting – December 8, 2020 Page 3

On June 23, 2020, Council appointed Councillor Gordon Harris to the Commission Interim Board and Councillor Lisa Makin as the alternate.

On September 1, 2020, amendments to Part 15.1 of the MGA came into effect. With these amendments, Regional Services Commissions (RSC), such as the Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Service Commission (EMTSC), no longer require Provincial Cabinet approval. Instead, the RSC is established through a Ministerial Order following receipt of a Council resolution.

Under the new requirements, RSCs are required to adopt bylaws that address:

- the service provided;
- the service area;
- administration;
- the process for changing directors of the board and the chair, as well as setting the terms of office;
- the process for adding and removing members;
- the fees to be charged for services provided to its customers or to any class of its customers;
- the disposal of assets; and
- the process for disestablishment, including the treatment of assets and liabilities.

Additional information is available in Appendix C.

Summary Analysis:

To formalize Council's decision on forming a Commission, the Commission's Interim Board has advised that the Province requires a consolidation of these resolutions under the newly revised MGA. The Council resolution must be advertised as per Section 606 of the MGA.

Should Council choose to approve the motion, it will then be sent by the Commission's Interim Board to the Minister of Municipal Affairs within 60 days.

Plans/Standards/Legislation:

City's Strategic Plan:

- 1. Core Value Excellence in Government; Goal Continuous improvement; constantly looking for ways to improve our services through planning, innovation, collaboration and consultation.
- 2. Core Value Well Planned and Maintained Municipal Infrastructure; Goal Strategically manage, invest, and plan for sustainable municipal infrastructure.

Administrative Recommendation:

That Council adopts the resolution to form the Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Services Commission.

Attachments:

- 1. Appendix A <u>https://www.fortsask.ca/en/your-city-hall/resources/Documents/News/News-Releases/2020/Accelerating-Transit-in-Edmonton-Metropolitan-Region-Addendum.pdf</u>
- 2. Appendix B Council Report June 9, 2020 regular Council meeting
- 3. Appendix C June 10, 2020 Letters to Ministers
- 4. Appendix D Regional Services Commissions Fact Sheet

Transit Commission Regular Council Meeting – December 8, 2020 Page 4

Prepared by:	Anthony Dionigi Transit Supervisor, Public Works	Date: November 20, 2020
Prepared by:	Richard Gagnon Director, Public Works	Date: November 23, 2020
Approved by:	Jeremy Emann Chief Financial Officer, Finance Services	Date: November 25, 2020
Approved by:	Janel Smith-Duguid General Manager, Infrastructure & Planning S	Date: November 25, 2020 Services
Approved by:	Troy Fleming City Manager	Date: December 1, 2020