Tuesday, January 26, 2016 - 6:00 PM Council Chambers - City Hall

#### Present:

Members of Council:
Mayor Gale Katchur
Councillor Birgit Blizzard
Councillor Sheldon Bossert
Councillor Frank Garritsen
Councillor Stew Hennig
Councillor Arjun Randhawa
Councillor Ed Sperling

## Administration:

Kelly Kloss, City Manager
Brenda Rauckman, General Manager, Corporate & Protective Services
Brenda Molter, Director, Legislative Services
Wendy Kinsella, Director, Corporate Communications
Barb Gamble, Director, Family & Community Support Services
Grant Schaffer, Director, Project Management
Reade Beaudoin, Digital Media Coordinator
Sheryl Exley, Recording Secretary

## 1. Call to Order

Mayor Katchur called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

## 2. Approval of Minutes of January 12, 2016 Regular Council Meeting

**R11-16** MOVED BY Councillor Garritsen that the minutes of the January 12, 2016 regular Council Meeting be adopted as presented.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa,

Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

**CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

## 3. Delegations

None.

## 4. Unfinished Business

#### 4.1 Bylaw C1-16 - Council Meeting Procedures - 3rd reading

Presented by: Brenda Molter, Director, Legislative Services

**R12-16** MOVED BY Councillor Blizzard that Council give third reading to Procedures Bylaw C1-16.

MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that Council Meeting Procedures Bylaw C1-16 be amended by adding a section on meeting agendas for "Councillor Inquiries".

Councillor Hennig withdrew his motion.

Resolution #R12-16 was brought forward, and

**CARRIED** 

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Birgit Blizzard,

Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

Against: Arjun Randhawa

## 4.2 Transit Task Force Membership and Terms of Reference

Presented by: Kelly Kloss, City Manager

**R13-16** MOVED BY Councillor Garritsen that Council approve the Terms of Reference for the Transit Task Force.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa,

Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

R14-16 MOVED BY Councillor Garritsen that Council appoint Councillor Blizzard, Councillor

Garritsen, and Councillor Hennig to the Transit Task Force.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa,

Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

#### 5. New Business

## 5.1 Habitat for Humanity Land Assessment

Presented by: Barb Gamble, Director, Family & Community Support Services

**R15-16** MOVED BY Councillor Bossert that Council direct Administration to undertake public consultation regarding the use of the recommended site at 9507 - 93 Avenue as the

next potential Habitat for Humanity project location.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa,

Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

**CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

## 5.2 119 Street and Highway 15 Intersection Upgrade Project

Presented by: Grant Schaffer, Director, Project Managerment

R16-16

MOVED BY Councillor Garritsen that Council amend the 2016 Capital Budget in the amount of \$250,000 to include the detailed design of intersection improvements at 119 Street and Highway 15, to be funded from the Medium Industrial Developer Levy Reserve.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa,

Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

## 5.3 Alberta Community Partnership Grant - Town of Bruderheim

Presented by: Kelly Kloss, City Manager

R17-16

MOVED BY Councillor Sperling that the City of Fort Saskatchewan participate in the grant application to provide for regional partnership funding for the replacement of the ice plant in the Town of Bruderheim arena.

In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa,

Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

**CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

## 6. Bylaws

None.

## 7. Notice of Motion

None.

# 8. Adjournment

R18-16 MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that the regular Council Meeting of January 26, 2016 adjourn at 6:48 p.m.

> Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling In Favour:

**CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

Mayor	 	<del> </del>	
Mayor			