

### Present:

Members of Council: Mayor Gale Katchur Councillor Birgit Blizzard Councillor Sheldon Bossert Councillor Frank Garritsen Councillor Stew Hennig Councillor Arjun Randhawa Councillor Ed Sperling

Administration: Kelly Kloss, City Manager Troy Fleming, General Manager, Infrastructure & Community Services Renee Fitzsimmons, Acting General Manager, Corporate & Protective Services Brenda Molter, Director, Legislative Services Wendy Kinsella, Director, Communications and Marketing Matthew Siddons, Current Planner Reade Beaudoin, Digital Media Coordinator Sheryl Exley, Recording Secretary

# 1. Call to Order

Mayor Katchur called the regular Council Meeting of June 9, 2015 to order at 6:03 p.m.

A moment of silence was held in remembrance for Edmonton Police Services Officer, Constable Daniel Woodall, who was killed in the line of duty.

# 2. Approval of Minutes of May 26, 2015 Regular Council Meeting

- **R113-15** MOVED BY Councillor Blizzard that the minutes of the May 26, 2015 regular Council Meeting be adopted as presented.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

### 3. Delegations

None.

# 4. Unfinished Business

None.

# 5. Public Hearing

5.1 Bylaw C17-15 - Amend Land Use Bylaw C10-13 - Redistrict Lots 2 & 3, Block 4, Plan 122 3267 and Part of Lot 2, Block 8, Plan 032 4059 from IL - Light Industrial District to IM - Medium Industrial District - Fort Industrial Estates Applicant/Owner: Durrance Projects on behalf of Yanda Canada Presented by: Matthew Siddons, Current Planner

Mayor Katchur opened the Public Hearing at 6:09 p.m.

A Public Hearing was held to hear any submissions for or against Bylaw C17-15. Bylaw C17-15 received first reading at the May 26, 2015 regular Council Meeting.

Mayor Katchur asked if anyone wished to speak in favour or against Bylaw C13-15.

There were no submissions.

Mayor Katchur closed the Public Hearing at 6:13 p.m.

# 6. Business Arising from Public Hearing

6.1 Bylaw C17-15 - Amend Land Use Bylaw C10-13 - Redistrict Lots 2 & 3, Block 4, Plan 122 3267 and Part of Lot 2, Block 8, Plan 032 4059 from IL - Light Industrial District to IM - Medium Industrial District - Fort Industrial Estates – 2<sup>nd</sup> & 3<sup>rd</sup> reading

Applicant/Owner: Durrance Projects on behalf of Yanda Canada Presented by: Matthew Siddons, Current Planner

- **R114-15** MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that Council give second reading to Bylaw C17-15 to amend Land Use Bylaw C10-13 by Redistricting Lots 2 & 3, Block 4, Plan 122 3267, and Part of Lot 2, Block 8, Plan 032 4059 from IL Light Industrial District to IM Medium Industrial District.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

- **R115-15** MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that Council give third reading to Bylaw C17-15 to amend Land Use Bylaw C10-13 by Redistricting Lots 2 & 3, Block 4, Plan 122 3267, and Part of Lot 2, Block 8, Plan 032 4059 from IL Light Industrial District to IM Medium Industrial District.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

# 7. New Business

- 7.1 Naming of Southpointe Stage 6 Park to the Ken Hodgins Park Presented by: Matthew Siddons, Current Planner
- **R116-15** MOVED BY Councillor Garritsen that City Council approve the naming the Southpointe Stage 6 park (Lot 26MR, Block 13, Plan 1424559) as the Ken Hodgins Park.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

- 7.2 Naming of the James E. Graham (JEG) Mechanics Shop Presented by: Troy Fleming, General Manager, Infrastructure & Community Services
- **R117-15** MOVE BY Councillor Randhawa that Council approve the naming of the mechanic shop located on the James E. Graham (JEG) Public Works site as the Peter Schmidt Mechanic Shop.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

### CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

### 7.3 Assessment Review Board Members Presented by: Brenda Molter, Director, Legislative Services

- **R118-15** MOVED BY Councillor Randhawa that Council appoint the following individuals, as members of the Assessment Review Board for a term ending December 31, 2015:
  - Bennett, Judy Chartrand, Darlene Chauvet, Paul Dennett, Jack Graszko, Tina
- Hennig, Stew Knowles, Richard Normandu, Guy Ralph, Ray Ross, Diane
- In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

### CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

# 8. Bylaws

None.

# 9. Notice of Motion

# 9.1 Community Standards Bylaw Amendment

- **R119-15** MOVED BY Councillor Bossert that Council direct the Administration to bring forward an amendment to the Community Standards Bylaw C16-12 for the inclusion of statutory holidays to Section 1(v)(ii) of the Bylaw.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling
  - Against: Frank Garritsen

# CARRIED

Councillor Blizzard gave notice that she will introduce the following motion at the June 23, 2015 regular Council Meeting: "That the City of Fort Saskatchewan contribute \$40,000.00 to be funded from the Parks Reserve to the Andy Polanski Charitable Foundation for the construction of Andy's Playground at the Dow Centennial Fields."

Councillor Randhawa gave notice that he will introduce the following motion at the June 23, 2015 regular Council Meeting: "That Council direct Administration to bring back a report on the City of Fort Saskatchewan's notification procedures as they relate to the redistricting process and suggest any potential improvements, if possible, to enhance transparency for the general public."

# 10. Adjournment

- **R120-15** MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that the regular Council Meeting of June 9, 2015 adjourn at 6:45 p.m.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Mayor

Director, Legislative Services