

#### Present:

Members of Council: Mayor Gale Katchur Councillor Birgit Blizzard Councillor Sheldon Bossert Councillor Frank Garritsen Councillor Stew Hennig Councillor Arjun Randhawa Councillor Ed Sperling

Administration: Kelly Kloss, City Manager Troy Fleming, General Manager, Infrastructure & Community Services Brenda Rauckman, General Manager, Corporate & Protective Services Brenda Molter, Director, Legislative Services Wendy Kinsella, Director, Communications and Marketing Josie Krokis, Director, Protective Services Janel Duguid-Smith, Director, Planning & Development Grant Schaffer, Director, Project Management Reade Beaudoin, Digital Media Coordinator Sheryl Exley, Recording Secretary

# 1. Call to Order

Mayor Katchur called the regular Council Meeting of May 12, 2015 to order at 6:00 p.m.

#### 2. Approval of Minutes

- **R98-15** MOVED BY Councillor Blizzard that the minutes of the April 28, 2015 regular Council Meeting be adopted as presented.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Delegations

None.

# 4. Public Hearing

4.1 Bylaw C13-15 - Amend Land Use Bylaw C10-13 - Redistrict a Portion of SE 1/4 Section 19-54-22 W4 from UR - Urban Reserve District to RC - Comprehensively Planned Residential District - Southfort Meadows Stage 5

Presented by: Janel Smith-Duguid, Director, Planning & Development; and Andrew Usenik, Strata Development Corp.

Applicant/Owner: WSP Canada Inc. on behalf of Southfort Development Corp.

Mayor Katchur opened the Public Hearing at 6:04 p.m.

A Public Hearing was held to hear any submissions for or against Bylaw C13-15. Bylaw C13-15 received first reading at the April 28, 2015 regular Council Meeting.

Mayor Katchur asked if anyone wished to speak in favour or against Bylaw C13-15.

The following individuals were in attendance to speak against Bylaw C13-15:

- Jennifer Polischuk, resident
- Lyse Kempf, resident
- Justina Gibson, resident
- Chantel Werner, resident
- Pamela McGrath, resident
- Stewart Holder, resident
- Ryan Melo, resident
- Andrew Dutton, resident
- Darren Holder, resident

The following individual was in attendance to speak in favour of Bylaw C13-15: - Andrew Usenik, Strata Development Corp.

There were no further submissions.

Mayor Katchur closed the Public Hearing at 7:21 p.m.

Mayor Katchur called a short recess at 7:21 p.m.

The regular Council Meeting reconvened at 7:28 p.m.

# 5. Business Arising from Public Hearing

- 5.1 Bylaw C13-15 Amend Land Use Bylaw C10-13 Redistrict a Portion of SE 1/4 Section 19-54-22 W4 from UR - Urban Reserve District to RC - Comprehensively Planned Residential District - Southfort Meadows Stage 5 - 2nd & 3rd reading Presented by: Janel Smith-Duguid, Director, Planning & Development Applicant/Owner: WSP Canada Inc. on behalf of Southfort Development Corp.
- **R99-15**MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that Council give second reading to Bylaw C13-15 to<br/>amend Land Use Bylaw C10-13 by redistricting a portion of SE ¼ Section of 19-54-22-<br/>W4M from UR Urban Reserve District to RC Comprehensively Planned Residential<br/>District.

- In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Birgit Blizzard
- Against: Arjun Randhawa, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED

- **R100-15** MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that Council give third reading to Bylaw C13-15 to amend Land Use Bylaw C10-13 by redistricting a portion of SE <sup>1</sup>/<sub>4</sub> Section of 19-54-22-W4M from UR Urban Reserve District to RC Comprehensively Planned Residential District.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Birgit Blizzard
  - Against: Arjun Randhawa, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED

#### 6. Unfinished Business

- 6.1 Bylaw C16-15 Amend Traffic Bylaw C4-09 to Prohibit the Use of Alternating Flashing Lights and Stop Arm on School Buses - 3rd reading Presented by: Josie Krokis, Director, Protective Services
- **R101-15** MOVED BY Councillor Garritsen that Council give third reading to Bylaw C16-15, which amends Traffic Bylaw C4-09 by prohibiting the use of alternating flashing lights on school buses.
  - In Favour: Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling
  - Against: Gale Katchur, Birgit Blizzard

CARRIED

#### 7. New Business

- 7.1 Conversion of the Pointe Aux Pins Road to a Multi-Use Trail Presented by: Grant Schaffer, Director, Project Management
- **R102-15**MOVED BY Councillor Garritsen that Council approve cost sharing up to \$300,000.00<br/>towards the conversion of the Pointe Aux Pins road to a multi-use trail with<br/>\$210,860.45 to be funded from the Westpark Estate Community Enhancement<br/>Reserve and \$89,139.55 to be funded from the Parks Reserve.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard
  - Against: Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED

# 8. Bylaws

8.1 Bylaw C15-15 - Amend Policing Committee Bylaw C9-09 - Extend Term of Office-3 readings

Presented by: Josie Krokis, Director, Protective Services

- **R103-15** MOVED BY Councillor Sperling that Council give first reading to Bylaw C15-15, which amends Policing Committee Bylaw C9-09 to extend the term of office for Committee members to a maximum of 10 consecutive years.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

- **R104-15** MOVED BY Councillor Sperling that Council give second reading to Bylaw C15-15, which amends Policing Committee Bylaw C9-09 to extend the term of office for Committee members to a maximum of 10 consecutive years.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

- **R105-15** MOVED BY Councillor Sperling that Council provide unanimous consent to proceed with third and final reading to Bylaw C15-15, which amends Policing Committee Bylaw C9-09 to extend the term of office for Committee members to a maximum of 10 consecutive years.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

- **R106-15** MOVED BY Councillor Sperling that Council give third reading to Bylaw C15-15, which amends Policing Committee Bylaw C9-09 to extend the term of office for Committee members to a maximum of 10 consecutive years.
  - In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

9. Mayor and Councillors Boards/Committees

Members of Council provided updates on current and upcoming activities for Boards/Committees.

# 10. Administrative Inquiries

Members of Council were given the opportunity to ask questions and provide concerns and comments to Administration.

- 11. Notice of Motion
- 12. Adjournment

MOVED BY Councillor Hennig that the regular Council Meeting of May 12, 2015 adjourn at 8:18 p.m.

**R107-15** In Favour: Gale Katchur, Frank Garritsen, Stew Hennig, Arjun Randhawa, Birgit Blizzard, Sheldon Bossert, Ed Sperling

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Mayor

Director, Legislative Services